I was, for once, all excited about New Years Eve, with the exception of the sprained ankle that is causing me significant pain 24/7. I invited a few girlfriends over, rustled up some jambalaya, hummus, pita chips, cashews and pimento cheese. We had three HUGE bottles of wine, Phase Ten cards and Friends Scene It. We were ON!!! My weenie dog was decked out in her NYE beads and hat. We laughed and joked and played cards and drank copious amounts of wine. It was a GREAT night. And we counted down the New Year with an ever aging Dick Clark (it was pitiful, wasn't it?) After the ball dropped in Times Square, we rallied another game of Friends Scene It (I won all of them by the way) and we cleaned up and went to bed. Asleep by one a.m. I thought it was a perfectly wonderful New Years Eve. New Years Day, I went into town, saw a movie and on the way home realized, I'd made it through New Years Eve with not even so much as a THOUGHT about STBX. I didn't wonder where he was, or if he was at home, or who he might be ringing in the new year with. It NEVER ..... CROSSED..... MY.....MIND. Until the day after. Which i thought was major progress!!!! And even when I DID think about it, I was relatively apathetic. Because he wasn't with me, dragging me out of some party, yelling and me or being an asshole. No, that is someone's problem now, although I'm sure those attributes haven't shown up yet; it takes a couple of years. And I'm already more okay at this point than I ever dreamed I'd be. So imagine, June 3, 2010, how far along I will have come. Bring it on, I say. I'm ready for 2010!!!!
Monday, January 4, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment